The Cause
How are you feeling about democracy?
“We’re going to win by 10,000 votes” with Billy Wimsatt
2
0:00
-28:21

“We’re going to win by 10,000 votes” with Billy Wimsatt

We know precisely how to reach the 'undecided about voting' voters who will decide the fate of democracy. Now, we need to fund it.
2

"Hey, there's this thing I found out about that's a way to elect Kamala Harris and all the Democrats downballot AND build community infrastructure long-term. And it’s going to transform this country. It's cool. You may not know about it yet. Check it out.”

That’s the pitch from Billy Wimsatt, the founder and executive director of the Movement Voter Project, for the Movement Voter Project. And I’m sold.

MVP is how all the work we’re putting into this election can live on and transform this country. And–even more importantly, right now–it’s the best way to turn out the “undecided about voting” progressive voters who will decide this election.

Finding MVP feels like a cosmic revelation to me. I’ve admired Billy Wimsatt since I was handed a copy of his book BOMB THE SUBURBS while a student at UC Santa Barbara in the 90s. “This is what I’ve been looking for,” I thought when I held that wild, eclectic collection of words and images. And when I came across the organization he leads, I had the same feeling. It’s a bit spooky.

Everything we’re doing right now doesn’t have to end. It can become the seeds that make those “undecided about voting” voters glad they decided to vote.

And I challenge you to listen to this whole interview without thinking you should donate to help the Movement Voter Project invest in local organizers who can help us win in November and transform policy afterward.

Catch up on all the episodes of “How are you feeling about democracy?” here.

If you want to support this podcast, please join us here at the earlyworm society – free or paid; your support matters.

Discussion about this podcast

The Cause
How are you feeling about democracy?
Each week we'll ask one expert how they are feeling about democracy and dig into what we need to know to help save it. Hosted by earlyworm's Jason Sattler AKA @LOLGOP.